About Us

A Brotherhood of Omega Men

In 1974, the Iota Pi Graduate Chapter of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. was chartered in Grand Rapids, MI. We work to uphold our values of Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance, and Uplift through acts of service and leadership within our community. Iota Pi members are committed to improving the health, economic, and social well-being of individuals within our community.

Cardinal Principles


Moral excellence. Courage. Bravery. Resolve. These characteristics define what it means to embody the principle of manhood as an Omega man.


Omega men strive to be lifelong learners and often go above and beyond to stay informed and educated. He understands how important it is to be knowledgeable and strives to educate those around him.


By exhibiting a spirit of brotherhood, togetherness, humility, cooperation, and a willingness to go an extra mile for the goal sought, an Omega man stands for perseverance.


An Omega man understands that he is only as strong as his community; through sharing his gifts with the community around him, he is able to uplift others in the form of aid, activism, and leadership.

Chapter Officers

JaQuan Thompson, Basileus

JaQuan joined the Iota Pi chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. as a student at Grand Valley State University in 2015. After graduating, JaQuan remained an active member and became the Basileus of the chapter in November of 2019. His favorite event to attend with his brothers each year is their Reclamation and Retention event, in which they bring back inactive members to remind them why their brotherhood is so important and encourage them to become active once again.

Local Members

Trevin Alexander
Dr. Damon Arnold
Aaron Bailey
Sidney Bailey III*
Evens Baker
Errol Baty
Kenyatta L. Brame
Dr. Walter Brame
Kwabena Brisban
Marquis Buggs
Randall Burt*
Victor Burt
Dr. Walter Burt
Cobey Bussey
Rhondo Cooper
Aaron Dudley

Edward Eniang
Royce Evans
Arnell Flemming
Elsie Ford
Russell Hamlett III
Dwight Harvey, Jr.
Sam Freeman, Jr.
Ronnie Frelix, Jr.
Richard Gills
Dwight Gutridge
BG Shawn Harris, US Army
Greg Hodo*
Detwan Johnson
Joe Jones
Samuel Jones

Lyonel LaGrone II
Earnest Large
Eric Large
Rodney Lewis
Chris Lovelady
Eaton Maben
Darryl Martin
Jerry McComb
William “Will” McCurdy
Emmett Miller
Rev. Nathaniel Moody
Nathaniel Moody III
Lee Moyer
Micheal Noble
Oscar Neal

Igwe Nyeche
LeMark Payne
Jason Paulateer
Darryl Plunkett
Joe Powell
Paul Robinson
Darel Ross
Raynard Ross
Juan Sanders
Donald Scott
Terrance Shorter, Jr.
Quintin D. Sweat, Sr.
Alexander Thomas, Jr.
JaQuan Thompson
Vertlee Trice
Christian J. Verley

Cedrix Walker
Russell Williams
Wayne Wilson
Willie Wilson, Jr.
Ennis Young